The Royalist Army

The Royalist Army is organised into five infantry tercios and a cavalry regiment. Each tercio consists of several regiments of foot. The army is commmanded by the Lord General - appointed by the King to command his field army. On field you will see the army command - the Lord General and his staff - send commands via runners to each tercio commander who order their troops accordingly. On occasion King Charles I commanded the army himself and at some re-enactments you may see the Royal Standard indicating the King is present. The following list shows the Regiments in each tercio.



The Dragoons

The Oxford Army

  • Prince Rupert's Blew Regiment of Foote (Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Essex, Greater London, Hampshire, Hertfordshire, Norfolk, Northamptonshire, Oxfordshire, Suffolk and Surrey)
  • Sir Henry Vaughan's Company (Buckinghamshire, Northamptonshire, Clwyd, Dyfed, Gwent, Gwynedd, Mid Glamorgan, Powys, South Glamorgan and West Glamorgan)
  • Earl Rivers’ Regiment of Foote (Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Gloucestershire, Hampshire, Leicestershire, Oxfordshire, Warwickshire, Wiltshire, Dyfed, Gwent, Mid Glamorgan, Powys, South Glamorgan and West Glamorgan)


Lord Hopton's Tertio


The Marquess of Newcastle's Nothern Army

Our website uses cookies so that we can provide a better browsing experience. Continue to use the site as normal if you're happy with this, or find out how to manage cookies