The Sealed Knot logo

The Royalist Army

The Royalist Army is organised into five infantry tercios and a cavalry regiment. Each tercio consists of several regiments of foot. The army is commanded by the Lord General – appointed by the King to command his field army. On field you will see the army command – the Lord General and his staff – send commands via runners to each tercio commander who order their troops accordingly. On occasion King Charles I commanded the army himself and at some re-enactments you may see the Royal Standard indicating the King is present. The following list shows the Regiments in each tercio.

Lord Wilmot's Brigade

Prince Maurice’s Regiment of Dragoones
Devon, Cornwall, West Midlands, Warwickshire, Tyne and Wear and Scottish Borders
Colonel Richard Bagot’s Regiment of Foote Birmingham, Derbyshire, Hampshire, Leicestershire, Lincolnshire, Nottinghamshire, Shropshire, Staffordshire and West Sussex

The Oxford Foote

The King’s Lifeguard of Foote
Kent, Oxfordshire, Birmingham, South Wales, Cheshire, Staffordshire, Derbyshire, Leicestershire, Nottinghamshire, South Yorkshire, Lincolnshire
Hastings Artillery Company
Sir Richard Molyneux’s Company of Foote
Derbyshire, Nottinghamshire, South Yorkshire and Gwent
Prince Rupert’s Blew Regiment of Foote
Bedfordshire, Buckinghamshire, Essex, Greater London, Hampshire, Hertfordshire, Norfolk, Northamptonshire, Oxfordshire, Suffolk and Surrey
Sir Henry Vaughan’s Company
Buckinghamshire, Northamptonshire, Clwyd, Dyfed, Gwent, Gwynedd, Mid Glamorgan, Powys, South Glamorgan and West Glamorgan
Earl Rivers’ Regiment of Foote
Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, Gloucestershire, Hampshire, Leicestershire, Oxfordshire, Warwickshire, Wiltshire, Dyfed, Gwent, Mid Glamorgan, Powys, South Glamorgan and West Glamorgan

Lord Hopton's Brigade

Sir Vincent Corbet’s Coy

Colonel Stephen Hawkins’ Regiment of Foote

Basingstoke, Hampshire, Herefordshire, Nottingham, South England

Sir Bevill Grenvile’s Regiment of Foote
Sir William Godolphin’s Regiment of Foote
Cornwall, Dorset, Devon, Hampshire, West Sussex, Surrey, Derbyshire, Notts, Cheshire, Manchester, Mersyside, South Yorks

Sergeant Major General Henry Tillier’s Regiment of Foote
Bristol, Devon, Gloucestershire, Hampshire, Kent, Nottinghamshire, Somerset, Wiltshire, Gwent, Mid Glamorgan, South Glamorgan and West Glamorgan

The Marquess of Newcastle's Northern Brigade

Sir Gilbert Hoghton’s Companie
Cheshire, Lancashire, Greater Manchester, Warwickshire, West Midlands and Wiltshire

Marquess of Newcastle’s Regiment of Foote
East Riding of Yorkshire, Herefordshire, Hertfordshire, North Yorkshire, Northumberland, Oxfordshire, Somerset, South Yorkshire, West Yorkshire, Dyfed, Powys, Ayrshire, Berwickshire, Dumfriesshire, East Lothian, Kirkudbrightshire, Lanarkshire, Midlothian, Peeblesshire, Renfrewshire, Roxburghshire, Selkirkshire, West Lothian and Wigtownshire